Veullez patientez...

Les actus

La Tropicale 2020-12-22 07:25:05


Eritrean Biniam Girmay won the African Cyclist of the Year award. This trophy was created eight years ago by the organizers of the Tropicale Amissa Bongo, always ready to encourage the development of African cycling, rewarding the rider of the continent who achieved the best performances of the season and managed by its influence to make known African cycling on the world.

Biniam Girmay who was 5th of this Trophy in 2019, achieved this year a clear majority by the jury chaired by five-time Tour de France winner Bernard Hinault under the patronage of Thomas Voeckler and made up of twenty-five members African riders, coaches and managers, organizers of cycling events on the continent as well as specialized journalists, African and European, who follow all the cycling races in Africa.

BERNARD HINAULT (President of the Jury) : “Biniam Girmay is a promising young cyclist in African. Last year, he beat André Greipel in a sprint on the Tropicale Amissa Bongo, it was already important. He won two new stages this year but also was present in front of high level races in Europe. He progresses very quickly thanks to his natural puncher qualities that you will be hearing in the next few years. I am convinced of that. "

Biniam Girmay won this award for his achievements during the 2020 special season that included 2 stages wins at the Tropicale Amissa Bongo and a promising 2nd place of the Trofeo Laigueglia in Italy. Behind Biniam Girmay, another Eritrean Natnael Tesfatsion took second place, followed by Rwandan Moïse Mugisha who completed the podium. 


1 – Biniam GIRMAY (Eritrea – Nippo Delko One Provence)
2 – Natnael TESFATSION (Eritrea – NTT Continental)
3 – Moïse MUGISHA (Rwanda – Skol Adrien Cycling Academy)
4 – Henok MULUBRHAN (Eritrea – NTT Continental)
5 – Daryl IMPEY (South Africa – Mitchelton-Scott)
6 – Paul DAUMONT (Burkina Faso)
7 – Clovis KAMZONG (Cameroon - SNH)
8 – Youcef REGUIGUI (Algeria - Terengganu Cycling Team)
9 – Yakob DEBESAY (Eritrea – Groupama-FDJ Continental)
10 – Hailemichael MULU (Ethiopia – Nippo Delko One Provence)


2012 : Natnael BERHANE (Eritrea)
2013 : Louis MEINTJES (South Africa)
2014 : Mekseb DEBESAY (Eritrea)
2015 : Daniel TEKLEHAIMANOT (Eritrea)
2016 : Tesfom OKUBAMARIAM (Eritrea)
2017 : Louis MEINTJES (South Africa)
2018 : Joseph ARERUYA (Rwanda)
2019 : Daryl IMPEY (South Africa)
2020: Biniam GIRMAY (Eritrea)

Posts récents
Voir tout