Veullez patientez...

Les actus

La Tropicale 2021-12-15 07:28:55


Eritrean Biniam Girmay won the African Cyclist award for the second successive year. This trophy was created ten years ago by the organizers of the Tropicale Amissa Bongo, always ready to encourage the development of African cycling, rewarding the rider of the continent who achieved the best performances of the season and managed by its influence to make known African cycling on the world.As in 2020 Biniam Girmay achieved this year a clear majority by the jury chaired by five-time Tour de France winner Bernard Hinault under the patronage of Thomas Voeckler and made up of twenty-five members African riders, coaches and managers, organizers of cycling events on the continent as well as specialized journalists, African and European, who follow all the cycling races in Africa. 

 BERNARD HINAULT (President of the Jury) : “Biniam Girmay confirmed again this year that he is the most promising rider of African cycling. His performance at the world championship was not achieved by accident. The best riders of his generation were present in Leuven and he finished 2nd. Fantastic ! This is a well-deserved recognition.”

Biniam Girmay owes this distinction to his magnificent 2nd place in the U23 World Championship in Leuven (Belgium). Never before an African rider has achieved such a performance.


  1. Biniam GIRMAY (Eritrea – Intermarché Wanty)
  2. Ryan GIBBONS (South Africa – UAE Team)
  3. Merhawi KUDUS (Eritrea – Astana)
  4. Henok MULUEBRHAN (Eritrea – Qhubeka)
  5. Louis MEINTJES (South Africa – Intermarché-Wanty)
  6. Paul DAUMONT (Burkina Faso)
  7. Natnael TESFAZION Natnael (Eritrea – Androni-Giocattoli)
  8. Nicholas DLAMINI (South Africa – Qhubeka)
  9. Clovis KAMZONG (Cameroon)
  10. Yacine HAMZA (Algeria)
  11. ZERAI Nahom (Eritrea)
  12. Artuce TELLA (Cameroon – SNH)
  13. Gustav BASSON (South Africa – Pro Touch)
  14. Isiaka CISSE (Ivory Coast – Team Sprinter Nice)
  15. Souleymane KONE (Burkina Faso)

2012 : Natnael BERHANE (Eritrea)
2013 : Louis MEINTJES (South Africa)
2014 : Mekseb DEBESAY (Eritrea)
2015 : Daniel TEKLEHAIMANOT (Eritrea)
2016 : Tesfom OKUBAMARIAM (Eritrea)
2017 : Louis MEINTJES (South Africa)
2018 : Joseph ARERUYA (Rwanda)
2019 : Daryl IMPEY (South Africa)
2020 : Biniam GIRMAY (Eritrea)
2021 : Biniam GIRMAY (Eritrea)

Posts récents
Voir tout