Veullez patientez...

Les actus

La Tropicale 2019-12-18 17:08:58


Daryl Impey named African Cyclist 2019

South African Daryl Impey won the African Cyclist of the Year award. This trophy was created eight years ago by the organizers of the Tropicale Amissa Bongo, always ready to encourage the development of African cycling, rewarding the rider of the continent who achieved the best performances of the season and managed by its influence to make known African cycling on the world.

Daryl Impey, who was second of this Trophy in 2018 behind Rwandan Joseph Areruya, achieved a clear majority by the jury chaired by five-time Tour de France winner Bernard Hinault with the patronage of Thomas Voeckler and made up of twenty-five members African riders, coaches and leaders, organizers of cycling events on the continent as well as specialized journalists, African and European, who follow all the cycling races in Africa.

DARYL IMPEY : “I am thrilled to finally have won the award for Best African Rider . It is nice to be honoured in this way after a successful season. There are many African riders succeeding and doing so well across the board, and hopefully I can continue to inspire many more. This trophy is not only about results, but making an impact for cycling in Africa. I am glad they have chosen me and feel that I have lifted cycling in Africa or given hope to more aspiring cyclists from our continent.”


Daryl Impey won largely this award for his achievements during the 2019 season that included one stage win at the Tour de France in Brioude on July 14, and the final victory at the Tour Down Under in Australia in January.
Behind Daryl Impey, Eritrean Merhawi Kudus of the Kazakhstan World Tour team Astana took second place, followed by Algerian Youcef Reguigui who completed the podium.


1– Daryl IMPEY (South Africa – Mitchelton-Scott)
2 –Merhawi KUDUS (Eritrea – Astana)
3 – Youcef REGUIGUI (Algeria –Terrenganu Cycling Team)
4 –  Natnael BERHANE (Eritrea – Cofidis)
5 – Biniam GIRMAY (Eritrea)
6 – Yacob DEBESAY (Eritrea – Groupama-FDJ Continental)
7 – Didier MUNYANEZA (Rwanda)
8 – Joseph ARERUYA (Rwanda – Delko-Marseille)
9 – Bachirou NIKIEMA (Burkina Faso)
10- Antonio DARIO (Angola – BAI Sicasal)
11 – Gustav BASSON (South Africa – TEG Cycling Team)
12 – Azzedine LAGAB (Algeria – VIB Sports)
13 – El Mehdi CHOKRI (Morocco – Dimension Data for Qhubeka)
14 – Isiaka CISSE (Ivory Coast)
15 – Clovis KAMZONG (Cameroon)


2012 : Natnael BERHANE (Eritrea)
2013 : Louis MEINTJES (South Africa)
2014 : Mekseb DEBESAY (Eritrea)
2015 : Daniel TEKLEHAIMANOT (Eritrea)
2016 : Tesfom OKUBAMARIAM (Eritrea)
2017 : Louis MEINTJES (South Africa)
2018 : Joseph ARERUYA (Rwanda)
2019 : Daryl IMPEY (South Africa)

Posts récents
Voir tout