Veullez patientez...


The Tropicale Amissa Bongo was founded in 2006 and is celebrating its 13th edition in 2018. Its evolution over the years has achieved a maturity in sporting terms but also in infrastructure accompanying the organization in the most important competition of the African calendar through these historic pages, it is possible to dive back into all publishing since 2006 to find all rankings, pictures, videos and summaries of each event. You will discover the richness of the event but also the riders that have forever marked the history of the Tropicale.

Upon reading his archives and you learn there that 58 different nationalities were represented on the Tropicale since its inception and that behind most present, the Gabonese, the French, the Burkinabe, Eritreans, Ivorians, Moroccans, Rwandans, we also find the Belgians, Italians, Americans, Canadians, Russians, Finns, Swedes, Brasilians ... The Tropicale attracts worldwide.

We also note that Lambaréné is the city that hosted most often just before Tropical Libreville, Oyem monitoring, Kango, Bitam and Owendo.

The record holder for victories in the final ranking is Anthony Charteau (three times), the number of stage wins is Yohann Gene (7 successes) ahead the Belarusian Yauheni Hutarovich (5 success) followed by Italian Andrea Palini, French Adrien Petit and Belgian Frederique Robert (4 success each). Ten Africans have already won a stage, the South African James Ball, Eritreans Daniel Teklehaimanot (Eritrea), Natnael Berhane, Frekalsi Debesay and Meron Abraham, Rwandans Bonaventure Uwizeyimana and Joseph Areruya, Moroccans Tarik Chaoufi and Adil Jelloul, Tunisian Rafaâ Chtioui. Natnael Berhane was the first African to win the final standings in 2014, followed by Tunisian Rafaâ Chtioui in 2015 and Rwandan Joseph Areruya in 2018.

Those who participated most often at Tropical are Frédéric Obiang (Gabon), Leris Moukagni (Gabon) , Issiaka Fofana (Ivory Coast), Damien Tekou (Cameroon) and Yohann Gène (France) present each in 10 editions.

The fastest stage took place in 2014, the last day in Libreville, she reached a speed of 46,79km/h. This is the 2013 edition was the fastest (41.91 km/h average) followed by the 2016 edition (42.74 km/h)